A 5 Star Review for Richelle Mead’s *Red-Hot* ‘The Fiery Heart’


9833184

Author: Richelle Mead

Series: Bloodlines #4

Publisher: Razorbil

Date of Publication: November 19, 2013

Source: My Bookshelf 🙂

Rating: ★★★

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives.

In The Indigo Spell, Sydney was torn between the Alchemist way of life and what her heart and gut were telling her to do. And in one breathtaking moment that Richelle Mead fans will never forget, she made a decision that shocked even her. . . .

But the struggle isn’t over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there’s still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure — and re-education — looms larger than ever.

Pulses will race throughout this smouldering fourth instalment in the New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series, where no secret is safe

**May contain spoilers**

THIS BOOK! Richelle Mead you have one again impressed me very much – you never seem to disappoint. So throughout this entire book, my inner (not so much inner though) fangirl was going crazy from all the Sydrian love. I’m so happy about how their relationship progressed in this one and how they finally overcame some, ah, important milestones..

I loved Adrian so much in the VA series and in the first three books of this series but, with the multiple POV’s, I fell in love with him even more. Us readers finally got to know whet was going on in that extremely mysterious (and super sexy) head of his. Behind every sarcastic remark he would make, with the Adrian chapters we were able to see what real feelings he was trying to conceal. His love for Sydney goes beyond what I thought it was, which we defs see toward the end too. ALSO EDDIE! I LOVE HIM TO PIECES. He is the sweetest human being and such a brave, caring, loving soul. I’m so happy him and Jill finally happened – I hope that turns into a real relationship in Silver Shadows.

Zoe. The Alchemists. This ending. This book was a complete cliffhanger. When Zoe first came to join her sister I thought to myself, ‘ok ya, she’s going to be a total bummer and super annoying by coming in between Adrian and Sydney.’ BUT NEVER would I have expected her to go as far as she did. She is so brainwashed by the Alchemist and their ways that she is blindingly devoted to everything they do/say. This was sad/scary to see because I really am nervous to see how far she will go, even more so than she already has. The ending, I thought, was absolute and utter betrayal and unfortunately, I don’t think their sisterly relationship will survive this.

I thought in this book we saw a more carefree, funny side to Sydney which was great. When she told her dad that Adrian had already done everything to her, I had to put my book down and LOL. That was so funny! Thats the sassy gal I want to see. I’m glad at how much she’s come to accept the vamps and Dhampirs as much as we all do. Hopefully next book we can see some more of Dimitri, Lissa and Rose because man, DO I MISS THEM!

I’m glad as to how the plot progressed with the ink and everything, although sometimes I did feel it was a little slow and all that was happening was Sydrian love. (not that I’m complaining about this) Finally they found out the ink worked but Niel 😦 i was so scared for a second… I’ve kind of grown to like him..

Anyway, love this book x10000. can’t wait for numero 5.

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 3.30.01 PM

4 thoughts on “A 5 Star Review for Richelle Mead’s *Red-Hot* ‘The Fiery Heart’

  1. I agree with everything you said! I was so happy about Sydrian, but I did feel at times that Sydrian was basically the only thing happening in the book… Eddie is adorable ❤ All of the characters have grown so much, especially Sydney! I loved reading Adrian's pov as wel 🙂 Lovely review, Carol!!

    • I know exactly what you mean – at times the plot was kind of at a standstill and it was just Sydrian… Can’t wait to start Silver Shadows :O BTW thanks Rachel 🙂 🙂

  2. OMG yes! Everything you said was what I felt when I read them a couple months ago.
    I don’t hate Zoe because I think she’s just brainwashed and she’s scared of her dad and wants to name him proud, she genuinely believed that she was helping Sydney, so I can’t hate her for that, I’m just disappointed. I think she might comes around though, maybe in Silver Shadows or The Ruby Circle. Sydrian is so just so I just they’re perfect and I like you loved Adrian from VA and the relationship between him and Syd I was so happy cuz he deserved it so much.
    I also hope Lissa, Rose, Dimitri, Christian and everyone else makes appearance cuz I do miss them

    • I really do hope Zoe comes around in the next one – maybe when she sees Sydney suffering the way she is now in that torture chamber???…. I want to see the original VA characters so badly – I’m having withdrawals haha!! && AGREED, Sydrian is my absolute fave ❤

Leave a Reply

