Stacking The Shelves {1}


Stacking the Shelves

Hellllooooo everyone! Today I came across a feature called Stacking The Shelves on Tynga’s Reviews.  (Go check them out on that blog!) Essentially, this is a weekly post where all of us booklovers can share our hauls – whether it be physical books, e-books or library books. I thought this was a great idea because as much as I would love to read all of my new books, it might take a while to get to them. With this feature, I can rave all about these books and share my excitement! Sidenote: Now, this blog is run only by myself at the moment so, I might not have one every week, but once I’ve accumulated enough to make a blog post on, I will!

book-videoSixteenByNine10501) Yesterday I visited my local bookstore and I went in with absolutely no idea what books I was going to purchase. So, picture this: I walk in and the first thing I see is this beautiful long-awaited book sitting on the shelf begging to be bought and that is Landline by Rainbow Rowell. OK, before anything else can we just discuss the cover for a second?! It’s beautiful! 

18081809The spine is a striped pattern of grey and baby pink where the grey continues onto the front and the pink onto the back which I thought looked absolutely awesome. Then theres a bright yellow old-school phone on the front and the title turns into a cord! I mean, this cover gets 5 stars. Now onto what’s inside the covers: Georgie McCool (the name too, omg I love Rainbow Rowell) is married, but her marriage is on the rocks. Her family is supposed to go on a trip to visit her husband Neal’s family but, before they are supposed to leave, she finds out that she can’t because of work. Neal is super upset, takes  the kids and leaves anyway. That same night, Georgie finds a phone from which she can speak to her husband in the past where, he wasn’t even her husband yet. Can she save the marriage, or is it better off not every happening? DUN DUN DUN. The suspense!!! I absolutely cannot wait to pick this one up, but currently I’m reading Attachments by Rainbow so it’s going to have to wait..

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

2) So after being struck with awe at Landline (I’m a little Rainbow Rowell obsessed as you can probably tell), I moved onto the teen section – a place I am most familiar with – and I saw another very long awaited book on the shelf BUT it’s release date was set a week and a half away so I was completely thrown off guard. Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead (Bloodlines #5) !!! I’ve been counting down the days until this one was released (the release date being July 29) so when I saw it on July 19th I was kind-of stunned you could say. Immediately, I picked it up and didn’t think twice and now it sits with all my other Vampire Academy/Bloodlines series. I am a very happy person now.

8709524Unfortunately, this cover is not one I admire. I kind of hate it to be completely honest. I mean, this series is hands down one of my favourites – the covers however, just don’t do it justice AT ALL. 😦 BUT BUT BUT, that in no way lessens my affection for you, Bloodlines series. (if anyone caught that TFiOS reference, i love you) Either way I cannot wait to read the second to last book in this series and I’m also so happy that it is once again multiple POVs (Adrian and Sydney #GoSydrian) so I’m defs looking forward to that!!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

157981183) Now, the last book I got was something a little different than what I usually read because it is more adult fiction as opposed to YA. (I guess so is Landline, though) and SHORT STORIES. I have never been a huge fan of SS but, I’m willing to give this one a try because of the great reviews it’s gotten. It’s called Circus by Claire Battershill. Mind you, I just finished reading The Night Circus (review to come) so I was in that circusy mood. This is a series of short stories as far as I am aware, and to be completely honest, that about it – I don’t know much else. The cover immediately caught my eye because it’s so cute looking with the circus writing and hands pointing am i right or am i right?! Can’t wait!

Well, that’s it for todays haul – I hope you guys liked this post! I’m looking forward to doing more because I think it’s nice being able to share with you guys what I’ve purchased, especially if you are as excited for some of these as I am – let me know if you are! I’d love to discuss books haha 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 3.30.01 PM

Leave a Reply

