5 HUGE Stars For Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park


Title: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Date of Publication: February 26, 2013

Source: My Bookshelf

Rating: ★★★

 Two misfits.

One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try

 

And Rainbow gets yet another 5 stars!!

This book warmed my heart – immensely. The characters Rainbow Rowell has created through Eleanor and Park are two of the funniest, most loveable AND loving, real and relatable individuals. This book is such a great story about love, finding yourself, learning to accept who you are and accept love from others. On the other hand….


Eleanor’s home situation is a wreck and it made me upset to see so many people make fun of her and judge her so harshly. I hated Richie. I don’t say that about too many characters but man oh man, I hated this man. The way he treats his ‘family’ is just so disgusting and I sympathized so much for those children and Eleanor’s mom. The whole book I was praying they would escape somehow and although, the ending didn’t show us too much of ‘after’, in my mind I’m going to pretend her mom and siblings are free and happy because the other option is just too, too sad.

Park was part of that judgemental group at first but once he got to know Eleanor, they instantly fell in love. I loved how they bonded over comic books! Park is privileged enough to afford these books and through him, Eleanor is introduced to this wonderful land that is sci-fi, fiction-literature. And of course, I condone any relationship where reading is involved so, this was great!

I FELL IN LOVE WITH THEIR LOVE – it was just so happy, sweet, real and raw. I think that’s something special about this book too. It was written in a way that made me care so much about these two characters and admire their relationship. I mean, they are somewhat of an unlikely couple, but at the same time, they are both outsiders in their own way. I think Park showed Eleanor comfort and love, which are two things she has been somewhat of a stranger to.

**SIDENOTE: Those hand holding scenes that she wrote about JUST WOW. Who knew holding hands could be so….

Another thing I loved about this book was how Eleanor finally accepted the love she was getting from Park. I mean she couldn’t really stop him from loving her, but it was nice to see that, even after all the crappy relationships she’s had in her life and how many times she’s been let down (her dad, mom, stepdad, siblings etc) she was open to love and loving. I think it took her a while to understand her worth, and I loved Park SO MUCH for helping her do that. It takes someone special to show someone how special they are. They never gave up on each other. (excuse me while a shed a tear, or 500) I SERIOUSLY envied their relationship, oh and Park’s parents marriage too – it was adorable and so real!

Despite the countless obstacles they encounter, somehow someway, Eleanor and Park always seem to find each other again. This book was such a sweet story and definitely one I will re read! Rainbow Rowell never ceases to amaze me, really. Snaps and claps to you! Easiest 5 stars ever!

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 3.30.01 PM

7 thoughts on “5 HUGE Stars For Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park

  1. I loved Eleanor and Park, too. I was expecting a cute, fluffy book, but it wasn’t that at all. (Well, I mean, it was cute, but it was more than that.) I wasn’t prepared for all the feels that came to me, but I love how Rainbow Rowell made her characters so real.

    • I know right?! This book was EVERYTHING i could have wanted in a contemporary and more! I’m never getting over this one, it’s stuck with me. Looking forward to reading your review!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: “Eleanor and Park” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

