‘Wicked’ by Lisa Campbell ★★★ ½


17281686

Title: The Wicked

Author: Lisa Campbell

Series Order: Wicked #1

Year of Publication: 2013

Publishers: Createspace

Length: 299 pages

ISBN: 148203333X

**3.5 STARS!**
Before I start the review, I’d like to thank the author of this book, Lisa Campbell, and the First Reads program on GoodReads for giving me the chance to review this book 🙂

Natalie Johnson is a college student who experienced a traumatic event two years ago in a graveyard with her mother. This event left her terrified and had lasting side-effects on her like nightmares and most recently, hallucinations and sightings. Unfortunately, her mother was not so lucky – she was most affected in the incident and is now in an asylum for her condition. The Wicked explored Nat’s journey in coping with the return of a beloved best friend and her ex-boyfriend who happen to be seeing one another. She must choose between them two to help her deal with these recent discoveries and events happening in her life..

I thoroughly enjoyed this book for many reasons. It was very different from what I’m used to. I loved the main character. It actually spooked me out at times and I couldn’t even read at nighttime, but that might be because I’m a scardey cat and the overall flow was good.

The Spooky-ness

Most of the paranormal books I’ve read only have a hint of scary in them, like the Lux series where one of the main character is from another planet but have evil arch-nemesis, or the several demon-hunting books that I’ve read like Our Souls to Keep. This took it way beyond what I’m accustomed to. The evil entity and paranormal beings in this book, the ‘shadowy figures’, are actually creepy to read about and I definitely enjoyed this aspect of the book. It definitely kept me on my toes. I don’t know about all of you but it creeped me out at times. IN A GOOD WAY THOUGH, don’t let this discourage you! The pacing allowed me, as a reader, to stay wanting to know what’s happening, but also it wasn’t so much that it was too much for your mind to register.

Natalie & Her Attitude

Natalie Johnson is a great main, female character. Even though she’s been through so much already: loosing her mom for two years because of her condition, hallucinating herself, and finding out some pretty life-changing details about herself and her mother’s past.. Nat definitely made things interesting, especially her past with her ex-boyfriend, J.C. So I’m going to stop there because I don’t want to spoil anything for you guys! But trust me, Natalie is a great gal to follow along.

Why Didn’t I Give This 5 Stars?

The only thing is that I wasn’t pulled into the story as much as I would like to be. I enjoyed the story, but I wish that some things would have been left out or some things spoken more of. In some instances, there were irrelevant topics discussed that just didn’t seem all that vital to the plot or even important to know. This book was missing the ‘wow’ factor that usually leaves me awe-struck after I read a book, or even a chapter.

ALL IN ALL. I enjoyed this book and it left you off with a nice little cliffhanger. I’ll sure be picking up the next one once it’s released! If you want to read a different, paranormal YA book with a hint of romance here and there, this is the book for you.

– C

Leave a Reply

