‘Our Souls to Keep’ by Gary Caruso ★★★★


our souls to keep

Title: Our Souls to Keep

Author: Gary Caruso

Published: April 25, 2013 (originally April 1, 2013)

Publisher: Inertia Publishing

Editions: ebook, paperback

Length: 285 pages

To start off, I want to say thank-you to Gary Caruso and the Lovers of Paranormal group on goodreads for allowing me to read this amazing book for an honest review. To put it simply: i loved it. Now, I have never read anything quite like this book before, but I was instantly hooked after reading the synopsis, even before I began to read the actual book.

About the Book: Our Souls to Keep (great title btw) follows Wake Reynolds who, years ago, bravely sacrificed his own life to prevent his suicidal mother’s soul from going to Hell. Once Wake has become comfortable with the idea that Satan owns him as a Collector for souls, he gets a ‘promotion.’ Wake must convince an innocent, pregnant young girl named Annemarie to commit suicide because she is extremely important to Satan and the ongoing battle between Heaven and Hell. Although recently, Wake has been experiencing unusual flashbacks to his human life before he was sent to Hell and this changes everything.

There are several stand-out components that I loved about Caruso’s paranormal book.

Wake Reynolds’ Attitude

At first, I didn’t like Wake. I mean he did collect time souls of innocent people for SatanBuuutttt, once the story started up and we found out that he did all of this for his mother, that hit a soft-spot. Once his memories started flooding back and readers find out who the real half-demon-half-human Wake Reynolds is, I thought to myself, ‘I can work with this.’ Also, he never gives up. And I mean never. I don’t want to spoil the book for everyone, but once him and Annemarie meet and he realizes how hard it will be to basically kill her, he does everything he can to prevent that from happening. Believe me, this does not go unnoticed by others. (example, Birdman)

The Descriptions

Man oh man, this book described everything and super well too. Every time I read this book, I felt like I was there with Wake, collecting souls, fighting off demons and meeting demon hunters. I though this first book, like most first series novels, contained a lot of world-building in order to give readers a clear picture. Sometimes, books have too much but Our Souls to Keep had just enough. The vocabulary is amazing too. All in all, I just thought the descriptions were very well done.

The Cliffhangers Around Every Corner

And by every corner, I mean every chapter. Seriously, it killed me at times because I would just want to read it all the way through, but I find that I better understand a book when I take my time with it. So many of the chapters ended at a part in the story that you just needed to find out what was going to happen. This was great because, I don’t know about others, but it kept me guessing at all times and I was never bored. BTW, ultimate cliffhanger at the end. UGH. I need the next book!

The Story 

And of course, this goes without saying, I loved the plot as well. A very great read. Wake’s life is just so crazy to me. Caruso did a very good job of showing him as two completely different characters at the beginning and end of the book. It made things quite interesting. The enemies that Wake made got in the way many times although, that again created a hostile, yet exciting atmosphere.

Why I Didn’t Give This ★★★★★

The only reason this didn’t get a 5 star rating from me is because:

– At some times, I predicted what was going to happen. There were many cliffhangers, as I said, though I knew what was going to happen at certain parts in the book. Although I noticed, as I was coming closer towards the middle/end of the book, it was becoming more unpredictable which I enjoyed.

– And one more thing. I thought the book moved too fast at the beginning. Within the first 30 pages Wake had regained much of his memories back and had already decided he didn’t want this life anymore which kind of surprised me. Also, Wake’s feelings towards Annemarie came upon very quickly. They started shooting around words like ‘love’ or ‘girlfriend’ right when they met. I just wished sometimes that the book went by slower and for certain things to get built upon as opposed to just dropped right in the book.

Anyway, I give this book a 4 star rating aka. I very much enjoyed reading this and I’m looking forward to the next book! I can’t wait too long! The end killed me so I definitely can’t wait to read #2! I recommend this to all of you who enjoy paranormal, young adult books with some romance to spice things up! Read away!

– C

Leave a Reply

