eReaders vs. Print Books: Which Do You Prefer?


Hey!CoveringAllCovers here with a random post! 

Okay, so this topic, I find, comes with many different opinions from everyone; eReaders compared to books. To be honest, I have both and enjoy both for their own reasons, but I don’t think I’ll ever be able to buy books that I really care about and think will be my favourites on my Kobo. Don’t get me wrong I think they’re amazing devices for their compatibility and user-friendly interfaces, but I love the idea of having a huge library of all my books and I’m sure a lot of you feel the same way. When ebooks and ereaders first began to become popular I thought the idea was cool but, never said, “I’m going to buy one” right away. I was definitely hesitant because after being an avid reader for such a long time, you become attached to the feeling of having the books in your hand and watching your library grow overtime. 

Although all this is true, when we compare the differences and think about the advantages, you give in right away (or at least I did) 

eReaders

  1. You can literally carry 32,000 books in your pocket. Okay, pocket may be exaggerating a little bit because let’s be honest here, who’s going to carry an eReader in their pocket? Purse, satchel, bag, whatever it may be, doesn’t matter. That’s not the point though. There is no denying that, especially if you travel a lot, being able to carry around that many books on a little device can come in handy as opposed to, carrying a ton of books in your suitcase. Even if you don’t necessarily get around too much, if you’re an avid reader who can whip though a book in one day and don’t have space for all of those books in your house, eReaders are the solution! Something that small? Endless possibilities.
  2. You get no damage to actual book. When you have a book on your shelf for a long time, it can start to collect dust and possibly have a few torn pages here and there, but with eReaders, you don’t need to worry about that! Think about it, even while you’re reading, you don’t need to worry about wreking your book from coffee spills or bent covers. You’re books will be safe inside you’re device.
  3. You have your own bookstore in a 6″ device. How cool is that? Wherever you have wifi, and in some cases, wherever you have 3G connection, you can log on and pick a book, read a summary, view ratings, buy the book and start reading in a couple of minutes! That’s probably one of the biggest factors that leads people into buying eReaders. It’s so much easier than driving over to your local bookstore, finding the book amongst the many, many shelves, waiting in line and buying the book or waiting for it to ship to your house (if you order online). Much less time consuming.

Books

  1. The feeling of holding a new book in your hands can never be forgotten, can it? I don’t know if this is true for everyone but for me, holding a book, smelling the brand new pages (weird?) and physically turing the last page in your book is exciting and just seems more real. I love the feeling of being able to hold a book in my hand, and even reading ahead sometimes to see what happens. I know that’s cheating, but I do it all the time!
  2. “Oh look how large my library has become!” You’re not going to be saying that much if you decide to fully switch over to eReaders. There’s no way that you’re going to be able to physically see how many books you have acquired over the years and it saddens me when I think about it. Everyone (or at least I do..) dreams of having a room dedicated to being a library in their home or future home to see all the stories you’ve read about. The feeling of not being able to see my novels on my bookshelves is one I don’t want to fully experience. I’ll miss it too much!
  3. Beautiful covers will never be replaced with a deviceNo matter if your eReader is a full-coloured iPad, Kindle, Kobo etc., the covers will never be the same to me. I love being able to admire the cover art on the books I buy and occasionaly looking back to see if they have a deeper meaning than I initially thought. Covers are part of the reason someone becomes interested in a novel, so that factor will not be replaced for me, even with coloured screens. It’s just not real enough for me!

So I know this post may seem biased, but I just will never get over having my favourite books in hardcover on my bookshelf. Of course, it’s a different story when the book you want to read is only sold as an ebook because that doesn’t really have an alternative, does it? Anyway, even after thinking long and hard about this I will always love my print books better, no matter how popular and fancy ereaders get! Don’t get me wrong though, I still buy books on my Kobo, just as much as I buy print books so it’s kind of getting the best of both worlds isn’t it? Leave your thoughts down below! I would love to hear your take on this!

2 thoughts on “eReaders vs. Print Books: Which Do You Prefer?

Leave a Reply

