Book Review: UnEnchanted ★★★½


Hey! CoveringAllCovers here to review UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn. First of all, lets start off with the blurb at the back of the book so you can get an idea of what this story is about:

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

UnEnchanted can be classified as a YA or a fairy tale, but in my opinion, Hahn does an amazing job at combining these two and as a result, created a very compelling story to read. The concept of this novel is so original and creative that I was hooked as soon as I read the summary (and it was free on kobo so I checked it out!) The idea of this book is that a regular teenage girl must go encounter countless fairy tales that her ancestors, the Grimm Brothers, wrote and endure hardship, heartbreak, confronting terrifying personalities while risking her life. There were some things that I really enjoyed about UnEnchanted, but others that I didn’t quite enjoy.

Let’s start off with the good!

1. The Story Concept
OMG, okay so I don’t even know where to start. The plot line to UnEnchanted is soawesome. I mean the Grimm Brothers, really! When I started reading I immediately thought, “Wow. That is such a great idea!” I’m not aware if there are novels similar to Hahn’s, but it was new to me. Nowadays, we see so many YA novels that revolve around a dystopian land, very unlike our world today which makes these books very interesting, but to be honest, that wasn’t what got my attention. I really enjoyed the merging of fairytales & YA. Trust me, you will not be let down with this story! Very excited to read the next book 🙂

2. The Love Triangle(ish)
Iv’e read other reviews on here and noticed that some people didn’t like this love triangle in UnEnchanted. To me, it made everything much more thrilling. Some are comparing it to Twilight and other typical love triangles, but I don’t think this one is like that at all. Mina is nowhere near being best friends with Jared, the mysterious guy trying to help her whom she also has secret feelings for. Brody, her boyfriend (sort of. you have to read it to understand), is a really nice guy but I would like to see her with Jared. To be honest, it’s not much of a love triangle because neither Jared or Mina admit their feelings for one another, but its obvious! Anyway, I thought this was well done 🙂

3. Fast-Paced
Finally, I found UnEnchanted very fast-paced and hard to put down. Maybe it’s because I read it on an e-reader and that tends to help me read faster, but I just got through this book really fast! Short novel or not, the events that came after one another just made for a really great and exciting story, making it hard for me to put it down!

Although this was a stellar story, there were some things that prevented me from giving UnEnchanted the 5 star rating.

1. The Errors in Grammar and Punctuation 
Now I know this probably sounds so typical for me to say, but being so used to novels with little to no mistakes in grammar and punctuation it was pretty evident while reading, and frankly kind of annoying. BUT , I know that Chanda Hahn is a self-published author and they don’t recieeve the class A editing process that perfects novels, so that didn’t bother me that much.

2. The Lack of Description of Events and Settings
So I don’t know if what I’m about to say is going to make much sense, but I’m going to say, or rather write, about it anyway. I felt like some of the key events in the novel weren’t described as much as or as well as I thought they could have been. I mean I absolutely loved the idea for this story, and it kind of let me down when we didn’t get the full illustration of some occurrences or even settings. If we got more background as to where Mina lived and where she spent her days with Nan and Brody, I feel like the story would have seemed more real instead of leaving that up to the reader.

3. The Lack of Descriptions of Characters
This may seem repetitive but once again, I feel like we could have gotten to know Mina, her friends and family a lot better with more background stories and information as to what they were like. This would have made for a much more relatable book, not that it really could be considering the plot line, but more real

In the end, a really great, fast read! 3.5 stars! 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: UnEnchanted ★★★½

  1. Pingback: Unenchanted (An Unfortunate Fairytale #1) | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

