Book Review: City of Lost Souls ★★★★★


Hey! CoveringAllCovers here to review City of  Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. First of all, lets start off with the blurb at the back of the book so you can get an idea of what this story is about:

“The demon Lilith has been destroyed and Jace has been freed from her captivity. But when the Shadowhunters arrive to rescue him, they find only blood and broken glass. Not only is the boy Clary loves missing–but so is the boy she hates, Sebastian, the son of her father Valentine: a son determined to succeed where their father failed, and bring the Shadowhunters to their knees.No magic the Clave can summon can locate either boy, but Jace cannot stay away—not from Clary. When they meet again Clary discovers the horror Lilith’s dying magic has wrought—Jace is no longer the boy she loved. He and Sebastian are now bound to each other, and Jace has become what he most feared: a true servant of Valentine’s evil. The Clave is determined to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. Will the Shadowhunters hesitate to kill one of their own?Only a small band of Clary and Jace’s friends and family believe that Jace can still be saved — and that the fate of the Shadowhunters’ future may hinge on that salvation. They must defy the Clave and strike out on their own. Alec, Magnus, Simon and Isabelle must work together to save Jace: bargaining with the sinister Faerie Queen, contemplating deals with demons, and turning at last to the Iron Sisters, the reclusive and merciless weapons makers for the Shadowhunters, who tell them that no weapon on this earth can sever the bond between Sebastian and Jace. Their only chance of cutting Jace free is to challenge Heaven and Hell — a risk that could claim any, or all, of their lives.And they must do it without Clary. For Clary has gone into the heart of darkness, to play a dangerous game utterly alone. The price of losing the game is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she even still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love? Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.”

OMG! I was SO excited to read this novel and I was thoroughly pleased! Heres why!: 🙂

Well I know some people have mixed feelings about this book, but after the kind of letdown of City of Fallen Angels, this blew me away!

There are a couple main reasons why I enjoyed this novel very much: *spoilers included*

1. The Action 
I mean, this book was SO fast-paced at some points that it was really hard to put down, but not so action-filled that it was irritating, you know? I don’t like books that are constantly battle scenes, so this book definitely didn’t let me down in that aspect.

2. The Romance 
Like I already said above, this book was very action based, BUT Clare managed to add thrilling romantic scenes, and also some that let me down. Some were disappointing because of what happened, not because it was badly written. I MEAN REALLY? ALEC AND MAGNUS ARE OVER?!?! this came as a complete surprise to me to be honest. They just seemed like the ‘eternal-couple’ kind! They were perfect for each other! I’m still really upset about that 😦 BUT, the scenes between Clary and Jace definitely made up for it (not entirely though!) They definitely grew as a couple because they found things out about one another that they didn’t know before like that they needed to protect each other. Of course, I was happy for Jordan and Maia too, they’re cute together 🙂 Another issue I had though was with Simon and Isabelle. COME ON ALREADY! Everyone but them two know what feelings they have, may as well admit it already! Hopefully, and it seems like this will happen, in the next (and final NOOOO) book in the Mortal Instruments series, they’ll end up together.

3. The Events 
The events that happened in City of Lost Souls were really different I felt to the other novels because so much was happening at once. As much as I hate Sebastian, his bond with Jace and that whole issue was thrilling to read about and definitely kept me going! When Jace came back, even though it was just for that night with Clary, it reminded me of how much I really really missed the real Jace and made me want to keep on reading to wait until he came back..which leads me to my next point….

4. JACE IS BACK!!! 
I actually waited SO FRIGGEN LONG FOR THIS. I still, and always will love Jace Lightwood no matter what! Even with him being Sebastian’s pet/robot person, I still loved him! AHH, I’m so happy he’s back!

4. Simon Makes My Life 
I think that says it all. Simon is the bestest friend ever! (just like Clary said) He has sacrificed himself so many times for these Shadowhunters. He’s amazing, and he deserves to be really and truly happy soooo.. I think he should be with Isabelle.

What I Would Have Changed

Honestly, this book was so good that I don’t think I would change anything. Clare definitely did an amazing job in this instalment of The Mortal Instruments. Although this is all true, I was such a fan of Alec and Magnus that I was really sad to see them break up! I mean they were so prefect for one another and they represented so much braveness and strength for standing up for what they believe is right! Also on the romance side, I wish Simon and Isabelle were together already! Haha, I know I already mentioned these issues briefly in the post, but here it is anyway. I know they will (hopefully) be together in the last of the Mortal Instrument’s novels, so that’s OKAY. The only problem is that I don’t think Magnus and Alec will be able to fix their issues 😦 this upsets me….

BUT THE END! I’m so excited for the next book! I don’t know how I’m going to wait that long! Definitely a 5 star book right here! 🙂 

One thought on “Book Review: City of Lost Souls ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

