Recommendations From CoveringAllCovers: Young Adult


Hello Book Lovers!

CoveringAllCovers here! Today I wanted to share with you a couple of my favourite young adult novels that I have read in the past or some that I am particularly looking forward to reading! Here goes!

  • The “Hush Hush” Saga by: Becca Fitzpatrick
  • The “Divergent” Series by: Veronica Roth
  • The “Delirium” Series by: Lauren Oliver
  • The “Vampire Academy” Series followed by the “Bloodlines” series by: Richelle Mead
  • The “City of Bones” Series by: Cassandra Clare
  • “The Hunger Games” Trilogy by: Suzanne Collins
  • The “Unearthly” Series by: Cynthia Hand
  • “Cinder” by: Marissa Meyer
  • The “Graceling Realm” Series by: Kristin Cashore

*Just a side note*

These happen to all be young adult books (as you can see by the title of this post) but I plan on making more posts on recommendations but for different genres.

Now, let’s discuss why I enjoy these books so much.

Most of these young adult novels focus on a dystopian land (an imagined place or state) which makes them all the more fascinating – trust me! The authors do such a great job in creating alternative universes, sometimes so different that you can’t even imagine what it would be like to live in – this is, until they start explaining the lives of the characters. For example, in my most recent read, City of Bones, Clare does such an amazing job in constructing the land of Shadowhunters and showing readers how different that world is to our world – the ‘mundanes’.

Another reason why I enjoy these books is for the different points of view they provide for readers. The Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series are great examples to portray this thought. In the former, Richelle Mead shows us the world of the dhampirs, Moroi and Strigoi through the eyes of one of them; Rose Hathaway. In the latter, she uses the same story line and same characters to describe the same land but through the eyes of someone who is completely opposed to the ways of vampires, believing that they are viscous creatures, no matter what. The contrast is amazing – believe me!

In my own personal opinion, I think these novels are all great and I recommend every single one to all of you!

 

2 thoughts on “Recommendations From CoveringAllCovers: Young Adult

  1. I loved The Hunger Games, and am really enjoying Divergent too. I’m so disappointed that I didn’t enjoy Delirium that much though, I really wanted to love it because of all the great reviews. I might have to read City of Bones next, as I heard a movie is coming out soon. Have you read the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld?

    • Yes, I agree! Delirium had such a huge hype and fan base surrounding it that I was hoping to really enjoy it and I did, but it definitely could have been better. About the Uglies series. My older sister has begun the series and it REALLY enjoying it so I definitely look forward to reading and reviewing that series!

Leave a Reply

